Seward County Sheriff
Official: Michael Vance
FAX: (402) 643-4852
Location: 261 South 8th Street, Seward, NE 68434
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Functions of the Sheriff's Office Administrative Support
The Seward County Sheriff's Office has two full-time civilian Administrative Support employees. Their job functions range from records processing to Sex Offender registrations. The front office is staffed Monday through Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm.
For vehicles that require an inspection, the original title and vehicle must be present. If there is a lien holder or leasing company who has possession of the title document, you will need a certified copy through the Seward County Treasurer Office. There is also a $10.00 fee that is required. For more information on title inspection requirements please click here.
Firearm Purchase Applications
Applicants who live outside of the Seward or Milford city limits may apply in person at the Sheriff’s Office, 261 S 8th St, Seward, NE, Monday through Friday, 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.
Following documents are required at time of application:
Current Nebraska operator’s license, Nebraska state ID card, or a Military ID card. The address on your Nebraska ID must be current and match the address on the application. If your only form of ID is a Military ID card, you must also provide proof of Seward County residency (i.e. utility bill, vehicle registration, pay stub, etc.)
Application fee of $5.00.
Applicants born outside the U.S. must also provide a copy of their citizenship papers, U.S. Passport, birth certificate, or alien resident card.
For more information regarding Firearm Purchase Applications please click here.
Sex Offender Registry
Any person subject to the Sex Offender Registration Act (Per Neb § 29-4003) is required to report in person to the Seward County Sheriff's Office within three (3) working days after becoming subject to the Act. If a sex offender has moved to the State and has never registered in the State of Nebraska, they must appear at an NSP Troop Headquarters within three business days of arrival in the state.
All changes of information, periodic verifications and 30-day transient updates must be done in person at the Seward County Sheriff's Office anytime between 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Monday through Friday.
State of Nebraska Sex Offender Registry Search
State of Nebraska Sex Offender Registration Act
Copies Of Accident Reports
To request a copy of an accident report please contact the front office at 402-643-2359. There is a $2.oo copy fee for all accident reports.
Emergency Light Permit
In accordance with Nebraska State Statute, Section 60-6,233, the application is hereby made for a permit which would allow the display of a rotating or flashing red light during such times as set forth in said section by the following: volunteer firefighter, law enforcement officer, rescue squad vehicle, and wrecker service. To request an emergency light permit the application below must be filled out.