top of page

Seward County
Board of Commissioners

Meeting Time: Tuesdays at 9:00 a.m. 
Location: Courthouse - Room 303
These meetings are open to the public    

Functions of the County Commissioners


The Seward County Board of Commissioners is the administrative and controlling body of Seward County.  The County Board of Commissioners has the responsibility and the power to care for county property, repair and erect county buildings, manage county funds, set tax levies, set salaries of elected officials, and build dams and dikes to control flooding of county roads. The Board supervises the highway superintendent and the road department in the maintenance and construction of roads in the county. The major portion of funds under the commissioners’ control is spent on roads. The Board passes on all claims for county funds and lets all contracts to which the county is a party. The Board appoints the County Veteran’s Service Officer and the Veteran’s Service Committee, the Welfare Director, the County Physician, the Coroner, the Highway Superintendent, the Weed District Superintendent and the Planning Commission. The Board has created and put into operation a zoning plan for control of all non-farm structures along with controlling the use of county land so that the majority of the land remains agricultural. A Board of Adjustment has been appointed and a Zoning Administrator hired by the Board of Commissioners to enforce this plan. When required, the County Board sits as a Board of Equalization regarding property assessments.


The agenda is open until 24 hours prior to the Board of Commissioners meeting. For further information, contact the County Clerk's Office at 402-643-2883.

In compliance with the provisions of Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-1633, the Seward County adopted Budget for 2023-2024 can be accessed HERE

Seward County
Board of Commissioners


Misty Ahmic

District 1

2022- Darrell Zabrocki.jpg

Darrell Zabrocki

District 2


Raegan Hain

District 3


John Culver

District 4

Elected Officials

In addition to the five elected county commissioners, there are seven other county officials who are elected to their posts. The offices, and their present incumbents, are as follows:

bottom of page