Official: Wendy Elston
Victim Advocate: Shanon Koranda
Phone: (402) 643-3056 (office)
(877)-388-4673 ( Hope Crisis Center 24 hour line)
Location: Courthouse - Room 101
Office Hours: Monday-Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Functions of Victim's Assistance
The Seward Victim Assistance Program is committed to providing free services to survivors of crimes, including information, opportunities, referral, advocacy and support, especially in the criminal justice system processes.
On behalf of victims, we act as liaisons between victims and a variety of justice system departments. We aspire to empower and assist survivors of crime in their recovery.
Advise victim of charges being filed in the case
Advise victim of case status, hearings and outcomes
Provide confidential crisis intervention and emotional support for victim & family
Provide victim with community resource referrals
Assist victim with the process for filing a protection order (Domestic Abuse, Harassment or Sexual Assault)
Assist victim with the Crime Victim Compensation application for restitution
Assist victim with the process of completing a Victim Impact Statement
Provide support during victim meetings and depositions
Liaison between victim and County Attorney's Office
Where can I pick up forms for protection orders?
Forms are free and located at the following:
Victim Services Office (Courthouse #101) Seward, NE
The District Court Office (Justice Center) Seward, NE
Who can help me fill out a protection order?
The Seward County Victim Assistance Advocate will be happy to help you with all the forms and documentation required to submit your protection order. The advocate is located at the Victim Services office in the Seward Courthouse #101.
Where do I file/submit my protection order after I fill it out?
Protection Orders are filed at the District Court office located in the Justice Center, 261 S. 8th St. Seward, NE.
How much does it cost to file a protection order?
Forms and filing for any protection order is free. However, the court may assess such fees and costs if the court finds statements contained in the application were false and that the protection order was sought in bad faith by the petitioner.
Resources and Links
Blue Valley Community Action Partnership
Child Abuse Hotline
Hope Crisis Center (24 hour domestic violence; sexual assault crisis line)
Low Income Legal Aid of Nebraska
Mothers Against Drunken Driving – MADD
National Center for Victims of Crime
Nebraska Coalition for Victims of Crime
NE Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault Coalition
Nebraska Victims of Crime Alert Portal
If you are a victim and you need immediate assistance, please call 1-800-395-2110. If you have an emergency or are in danger, please call 911 or your local law enforcement.